top of page

Joanna Considine 
Writer

    

Photo on 21-05-2019 at 11_edited.jpg
HOME: Welcome
HOME: Blog2

ANYTHING GOES

On Saturday I heard the first Christmas song of the year on the radio, and it took me by surprise. The DJ was doing a 'shall I/shan't I' tease, and I found myself being drawn into it, astounded by the realisation that I really wanted it, despite a longstanding dislike of Mariah. And when it was played, I turned the radio up as loud as it would go, switched on the disco lights and danced and sang my head off, only to be met with rapidly retreating dogs and the sound of doors slamming all through the house. But I am getting quite used to everyone turning their backs on me, and so now I care much less. It's been a long old year for us all. We need a bit of magic, and an early onset Christmas might do the trick. My only concern is that I might be fed up with it by the time it actually arrives. But we shall see.

Guinness obvs

Yesterday I had (or is it did?) a lovely long face time with Beccles Bec, and used my holly mug for the first time this year. Today I am drinking from another Christmas mug, wearing Christmas earrings, and I have bought Christmas jumpers for the dogs, which they might need to keep on for a few days as they have just come back from the barbers looking like naked mole rats. I am always a bit sad when they have haircuts because I prefer them with longer hair, but it tends to get tangled, which is uncomfortable for them, and even though you have to suffer to be beautiful (another of my Mum's sayings), I don't think it applies to my dogs.


My writing den is now full of Christmas presents, wrapping paper, brightly coloured crackers and boxes of cards. Also mossy wreath rings and reels of floristry wire, for the family wreath making session, which I am hoping will be actual, but may have to be another virtual event. I think that before long, we will discover that the shops are not going to reopen in time for Christmas, and everywhere will sell out of everything online. The doom and gloom keeps a-coming over me, and the only way to shake it off is to have plans in place which means cupboards full of all things Christmas way ahead of normal. Baileys and Amaretto, Terry's chocolate oranges and peppermint candy canes are all hidden throughout the house; if they are discovered, they will mysteriously disappear. T came into my writing den earlier today and asked if she could have some Turkish Delight, so it appears that I need to up my game.


I bought some really pretty garlands online, which I might have to string up in the kitchen very soon, and I am tempted to get the fairy lights too while I have the step ladder out. Whilst I am not quite ready for the Christmas tree, on Facebook and Instagram, I can see that many of my friends are. Mr C is not a fan of Christmas, and in his day, Christmas Eve was the time for putting up decorations. I certainly cannot wait until then, although I might have to hold my horses until after his birthday at the end of November. I will see how miserable it gets, but I am not ruling anything out.


Like so many people, I am really missing my family and my friends, and face time calls and dog walks are really very welcome . Here are a few photos from a walk with my daughter T a couple of weeks ago...


Last weekend, my friend Foxy and I did the same walk with our dogs, down to the local village, where, a guy has set up a little takeaway coffee shop in the public gardens. Who knew that a walk, a hot chocolate and a (socially distanced) catch up with a good friend could work such miracles, leaving me almost ready to face the hooligans arguing around the dining table, waiting for their Sunday roast when I got home.


I am continuing to write, although I am miles away from where I should be in the NaNoWriMo woods. I haven't even managed to get back to where I was when I lost twelve thousand words this time last week, and I am unlikely to hit the target of 50K by the end of the month. Part of the problem is that I cannot remember what I wrote in which draft, so have to keep going back to check. I will get there, although not I think by 30th November.


I had another rejection from an agent this week, which was very disappointing, but I had already assumed that it would be a no, as I approached them back in July. I have moved onto plan B now anyway, abandoning any hope of ever finding an agent for 'Magpie', my first book. I figure that it's good to have a couple of books under my belt, that I can pull out when I do eventually find an agent. Somebody will love it one day. One little glimmer in these dark days is that I have discovered a name for the genre in which I write, which up until now has eluded me. I write Suburban Noir. Sounds very sophisticated, but it just means everyday dark.


In other news, the lose a stone in lockdown is a complete disaster, and I now have two weeks in which to lose a stone and a half! I just feel so hungry when I am writing - so am putting it down to that. I have made an appointment to see the physio again in 3 weeks, and have been doing exercises designed to stretch and hopefully repair damaged achilles tendons. Hoping I will then be able to re-start Couch to 5K before I get too fat to walk, let alone run.


I have been given permission to share photographs of my new grandson Otto, who is adored by everyone, and is a complete superstar. I'm counting down the days, and really hope that I will be able to meet him at the beginning of December.


I am still listening to Christmas books on BorrowBox, and I am getting close to finishing The Queen's Gambit on Netflix; I love it, and am deliberately watching it slowly because I don't want it to end. What is the opposite of binge watching? That is me with TQG! Mr C was desperate to watch the Borat film on Amazon Prime, and I sat with him for the first half hour or so, but experienced a similar reaction as I get when Frankie Boyle is on - they are just too shocking for me, give me Vic and Bob any day. The subtitles were also much too small and I couldn't be bothered to move closer to the TV to read them. It is obviously not one for the oldies! I had also planned to watch The Undoing but it is only on Sky Atlantic, so no can do. I would love any recommendations for things to watch and read.

Heads or tails? Nobody knows.

Stay safe everyone, and enjoy early onset Christmas with me. Ah go on go on go on....






70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Photo on 03-10-2018 at 14.11 #2.jpg

JO BLOGS

JUST BE KIND

Thanks for reading my blog.  Please leave comments and share, and come back again soon. 

​

HOME: Welcome
bottom of page